Chakras are a Hindu concept, and the name is derived from the word for ‘wheel’ or ‘turning’. They are energy centres within the body, and can be visualised as a colourful, swirling, turning ball of energy. Each chakra is a focal point for the transmission and reception of energy in the body, and they are thought to vitalise the physical body by keeping the energy in the body flowing smoothly. When your chakras are in balance and working correctly then you feel well, emotionally, mentally and physically. If they become blocked then you can experience negative effects on your health and wellbeing.

Take this free 3-minute chakra test and find out where your energetic strengths and weaknesses lie. You’ll get a custom report with expert guidance on how each of your seven chakras are affecting your life.

Crown: Sahasrara. The crown is the area of supreme awareness and higher wisdom.
Blocked: Depression and boredom.
Open: Understanding of universal forces.
Color: White.
Crystal: Diamond

Third Eye: Ajana. This is between the brows and is the gate to the subconscious and intuition.
Blocked: Nightmares and headaches.
Open: Make wise decisions.
Color: Violet
Crystal: Amethyst, Sapphire, Peridot

Throat: Vishuddha. This is the bottom of the pharynx and is associated with expression, creativity and communication.
Blocked: Colds, hearing loss and vision problems
Open: Connection with the divine
Color: Blue
Crystal: Blue Lace Agate, Blue Topaz, Turquoise

Heart: Anhata. This is responsible for love and emotions.
Blocked: Heart problems, high blood pressure, breathing problems
Open: Positive effect throughout body and other chakras
Color: Green
Crystal: Aventurine, Emerald, Opal

Solar Plexus: Manipura. The solar plexus is just above the navel, and this chakra is responsible for harmonizing emotions and mental clarity.
Blocked: Negative effect on other chakras, person feels lost in life
Open: In balance and attuned with self
Color: Yellow
Crystal: Jasper, Clear Quartz, Carnelian

Spleen: Svadhisthana. This is just below the navel, and corresponds to commitment and identity.
Blocked: Anti-social behaviour, confusion, back pain
Open: In control, connected to dreams, confident
Color: Orange
Crystal: Garnet, Coral, Amber

Groin: Muladhara. This combines universal and earthy energies.
Blocked: Anxiety, fear, anger and paranoia occur
Open: From here all other chakras can be opened
Color: Red
Crystal: Bloodstone, Tiger’s Eye, Onyx

One thought on “Chakras”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *